Seeing Green (Smoothies, That Is).

I have lost 4 pounds since my last post!  Honestly, I haven’t been working that hard at it.  I guess it’s just coming off quickly because I had been doing nothing about my weight.  Since I started on this mission, I’ve been walking about 3-4 miles a week, cutting back on soda and junk, and eating more vegetables (cucumbers and ranch are my new favorite snack!).

I’ve always enjoyed adding spinach to my smoothies.  You can’t taste it at all, and it adds so much to the nutritional value.  The spinach alone in this smoothie adds about 110% Vitamin A, 40% Vitamin C, and 15% Iron.  That’s not including all the vitamins you get from the fruit and yogurt in this thing!  The best thing about it, is that it tastes great.  My seven year old, who lives on a steady diet of macaroni and cheese, pb&j, chips, and pizza (I’m doing my best to change the dietary preferences of this strong-willed child of mine!) loved it!  I poured her nearly a full glass of it, and she drank all of it.

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 apple
  • 1 banana
  • 1 cup yogurt (I used plain Greek)
  • 5 strawberries
  • 1/2 an orange
  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • water, to get it moving (optional)

Green Smoothie

 

See how pretty?  Who wouldn’t want this every morning?

I was worried that this wouldn’t blend well in my cheapo, non-Vitamix blender.  I just added a splash of water, and it all blended together just fine.

Hopefully, I’ll be making this everyday and watching the pounds just fall off!  (Please?  Can the pounds just fall off, please?)

Green Smoothie

 

Enjoy, you healthy, skinny person, you!

 

4 thoughts on “Seeing Green (Smoothies, That Is).

  1. Love it! Broccoli goes in our smoothies a lot… as well as all the leftover veggies from the night before 🙂

    Have you tried cheesy cauliflower with Squid? It’s pretty similar to mac ‘n cheese!

Leave a Reply

