Cloth Diapering 101: Part 1

So you think you want to switch to cloth diapers?  Or maybe you’re expecting, and researching options before your itty-bitty arrives?  Great!  Great for your baby, great for the environment, great for your wallet, great, great, great. (Step away from the custom, handmade, embroidered all-in-one…unless you’re buying it for me.  In that case, buy two.)  You may find yourself plagued with questions at the beginning of this fluffy new journey of yours.

“What kind do I need?”

“How many?”

“How much is this going to cost?”

“Do I have touch poop?”

To which I say,

“Depends.”

“Some.”

“Not much.”

and, “Get over it.”

Using cloth diapers is actually pretty easy.  It’s the choices and options that I found to be intimidating when I began researching the subject.  To be honest, I’ve only been using them for about a month.  I’m no expert, but I have been asked by a few people to share what I know.  So, given the fact that this can be pretty in-depth, I’ve decided to start a series on the various options available so you can decide which is right for you.

Come back in a day or two as we explore the wonderful world of pocket diapers!

cloth diaper monkey

2 thoughts on “Cloth Diapering 101: Part 1

  1. I really wanted to cloth diaper 28 years ago–but the options then were very poor, and the internet did not exist! Glad you are sharing your experience-I am sure it will be helpful to many new moms!

  2. Pingback: Cloth Diapering 101: Fitteds and Covers (Part 4) | lifeatyellowhouse

Leave a Reply

